C DIPC Election promotional cards for Hull, East Riding 1885-1935 of Yorkshire and Grimsby

Accession number: 17/51

Historical Background: Hull West was a parliamentary constituency that returned one Member of Parliament between 1885-1918, when it was abolished. It was recreated in 1955. The Hull Central parliamentary constituency ran between 1885-1955 whilst the Hull East continues to return one member and has done so since its creation in 1885. The Holderness parliamentary constituency ran between 1885-1950 and included the civil parish of Sutton.

Custodial history: Passed to the History Centre by Sarah Watkins in October 2017

Description: Election cards. The dates for each bundle are for the dates of the cards and not for the individual candidate.

Extent: 3 items and 4 bundles

Related material: Additional election cards can be located at L.324.081 and within the collections at C DMX, C DMT, C DFP, L WH, U DX, U DAS and U DDMM. Please see the online catalogue or the card index catalogue at the History Centre for more details. The East Riding of Yorkshire Archives in Beverley and the North East Lincolnshire Archives in Grimsby may also have election cards as well.

Access conditions: Access will be granted to any accredited reader

	C DIPC/1	Election promotion	nal cards for Hull Centra	ıl 1885-1911
--	----------	--------------------	---------------------------	--------------

For:- H. Seymour King, Conservative, (fl.1885-1910); George Jackson Bentham, Liberal (fl.1906); Robert Aske, Liberal (fl.1910-1911); Mark Sykes, Conservative,

(fl.1911-1918) 1 bundle

C DIPC/2 Election promotional cards for Hull East 1886-1918

For:- Frederick Brent Grotrian, Conservative, (fl.1886-1892); Clarence Smith, Liberal, (fl.1892-1895); Thomas Ferens, Liberal (fl.1900-1918); R.M. Sebag-Montefiore,

Conservative (fl.1910);

1 bundle

C DIPC/3 Election promotional cards for Hull West 1885-1918

For:- Charles Henry Wilson, Liberal (fl.1885-1900); Charles Henry Wellesley Wilson, (fl.1906); John Sherburn, Liberal/Unionist (fl.1906-1910); Guy Wilson, Liberal (fl.1907-1918); Lambert Ward, Conservative

(fl.1910) 1 bundle

Hull History Centre: Election promotional cards for Hull, East Riding and Grimsby

C DIPC/4 Election promotional cards for the Holderness Division 1885-1935 For:- George Bethell, Conservative/Free Trader, (fl.1885-1910); James Henry Anderson, Liberal (fl.1892); Allan James Lawrie, Liberal (fl.1900); Arthur Stanley Wilson, Conservative (fl.1910-1292); Sydney Arnold, Liberal (fl.1910); W. Audley Bowdler, Unionist/Liberal (fl.1922-1923); Neville Dixey, Liberal (fl.1924-1929); Aline MacKinnon, Liberal (fl.1931-1935). 1 bundle C DIPC/5 Election promotional card for Grimsby 1910 For Thomas Wing, Liberal 1 item C DIPC/6 Municipal election promotional card for Minster Ward, 1 Nov 1922 Beverley For Charles Robert Lown (fl.1922) 1 item C DIPC/7 Election promotional card calling to 'Tax Land, Not c.1900s Food'

1 item